Help Desk

Airtel : 09112729611
MTN : 09067939093


admissions open !
MAIN Programs

B.Sc Accounting

B.Sc.Ed Education

BA.Ed Education

B.Ed Adult Education

B.Sc Business Admin

Bachelor of Science Degrees

foundation and focus

The Centre for Distance Learning University of Maiduguri currently runs fifteen (15) versatile and reputable degree programmes

Bachelor of Science Degrees

B.Sc.Ed Education

BA.Ed Education


The University of Maiduguri operates a two-semester sessions for its regular courses and a long vacation period for vacant (or Extra mural) courses if any. A semester is expected to last for about 17 to 18 weeks (Including registration, teaching and examination periods), provided that not less than 15 weeks each are actually devoted to teaching. Duration of Degree Programme. The minimum number of years to be spent to be awarded a first degree in a programme of study in non professional areas shall be four years, and shall not exceed an additional 50% of the duration of the programme if a student fails to graduate within the minimum number of years. In some profressional areas, the requirement is longer. Five years are the minimum in Agriculture, Engineering and Law, and six years in Human and Veterinary Medicine. The Course Credit System
The Course Credit System (Otherwise known as the Course Unit System)
Assessment of a Course
(i) Continuous Assessment (CA) such as class tests, quizzes, assignments and reports constitutes 30%, while end-of-course examination constitutes 70% of the total marks.
(ii) For Laboratory and Workshop Practice courses, CA constitutes 70%, while end of course examination constitutes 30% of the total marks.

(iii) Final Year Projects are evaluated on the basis of several criteria which include an oral examination.

Course Grading System and Degree Classification
Grade Point Average (GPA)
The GPA is an indicator of a student’s performance at the end of a semester. The GPA is
obtained by multiplying the GP attained in each course by the number of units assigned
to that course, and then summing these up and dividing by the total number of units
taken for the semester.
Failed courses should be used only once for computation. Subsequent failures in the
same course should not be reflected or used until the student finally passes the course.
Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA)
The CGPA is an indication of a student’s performance at any point in his programme of
study. The CGPA is obtained by multiplying the GP obtained in each course by the
number of units assigned to that course, and then summing these up and dividing by
the total number of units registered by the student up to that particular point.
The final CGPA is obtained after the student must have completed his study. It determines the degree classification of a student. All computations of the GPA and CGPA are rounded to two decimal places.

Classification of Degree

The degree classification is done on the basis of a student’s CGPA at the end of his programme of study as follows:

CGPA Class of Degree

4.50 5.00 First Class

3.50 -4.49 Second Class Upper Division

2.40 3.49 Second Class Lower Division

1.502.39 Third Class

1.00 1.49 Pass

0.00 1.00 Fail



Bachelor of Science Degrees

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit.